2002 Schedule



Thousands of competitors eligible for nationwide NASCAR championship program


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (April 18, 2002) - NASCAR has announced that the total year-end point fund for the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge will be $1.7 million in 2002, to be divided among the top finishers at 81 race tracks nationwide.

        The participating tracks in the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge are divided into eight regions, from which eight regional champions will each receive up to $43,000. A total of $138,850 will be divided among the top 10 finishers in each region, an increase of $20,000 per region compared to the series’ 2001 point fund, which covered 87 tracks. Regional standings are determined by a statistical comparison of the drivers in each region using NASCAR’s Competition Performance Index (CPI). Regional champions can also receive track championship awards from their “home track”, in addition to the regional awards.

        The 2002 national champion can receive an additional $123,000, bringing the total prize for the national championship to $166,000, a new record for the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge national championship award.

        “Year after year, this series continues to be one of the most exciting championship programs in the nation,” said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR director of series marketing. “The annual point fund for this series is something that NASCAR and our sponsors have worked diligently to build over the past 20 years, and we’re excited to provide these awards to all of the champions in the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge.”

        In addition to the regional and national championship awards, which are provided in part by Dodge, 3M, Bell, Budweiser, Cintas, Clevite, Craftsman, CV Products, Edelbrock, Gatorade, Goodyear, Goerlich’s, Holley, Hoosier, Lincoln Electric, Mechanix Wear, Raybestos, Stage 8, Union 76 and Whelen, several special awards are also available in 2002.       Dodge has posted bonus awards for drivers using Dodge cars, including the engine and body, in 2002. The highest finishing Dodge driver in the track standings at each of the 81 participating tracks will receive a $500 award. In addition, Dodge has posted a $2,500 bonus to the highest finishing Dodge in each region and if the national champion uses a Dodge, they will receive an additional $25,000 bonus.

        True Value, the Official Hardware Store of NASCAR, continues its True Value Mechanic of the Year program in 2002. Awarded to mechanics and crew members in every region, this award is determined by balloting from NASCAR members each season. True Value Mechanic of the Year awards are presented at each track and for each region. The eight regional Mechanic of the Year award winners will receive $2,000 and the national Mechanic of the Year award winner, as determined by the balloting, receives a $5,000 bonus.

        Car owners and crew chiefs in the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge have always played a vital role in the success of the championship drivers. For the first time in series’ history, the national championship car owner will be honored with an award. Lincoln Electric will present the award, which includes a $5,000 bonus and a Lincoln Welder.

        For their efforts, the regional championship crew chiefs will receive awards presented by Lunati - $2,500 each along with an additional $5,000 bonus to the national championship crew chief.

        In addition to the feature division point fund and special awards, NASCAR also has two more tiers of cars that are eligible for regional awards and bonuses.

        In the ShorTrack Division, which includes support division cars such as Limited Sportsman or Trucks, track champions will receive a $1,000 bonus. The ShorTrack Division competitors are also eligible for regional and national championships, determined by the same CPI Index formula as their feature division counterparts. ShorTrack Division regional champions will receive $2,500 along with an additional $10,000 award to the ShorTrack Division national champion.

        In the Charger division, another support division at each participating track that includes divisions such as Street Stocks, Chargers or Mini Stocks, track champions will receive a $500 bonus.

        When the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge began in 1982, the total point fund was $235,000. Regional champions in the five original regions received $10,000 along with a $10,000 bonus to the series’ first national champion, Tom Hearst of Muscatine, Iowa.

Hit Counter