Hit Counter


STOCKTON, SATURDAY, NOV. 6 -- Stockton 99 Speedway’s NASCAR drivers and their teams, NASCAR track officials, special friends of the track, sponsors like HAVOLINE and CL BRYANT, hundreds of fans, friends and family members gathered to watch, as drivers and track supporters received awards and recognition for 2004 season achievements.

Headlining the event was Pacific Grove’s Dave Byrd. Byrd was honored with trophies, plaques, jackets, hats and checks for winning the Western Late Model track championship and Western Late Model Tri-Holiday 100 Classic.

Byrd, who also won a NASCAR regional national championship, said, “I really enjoyed running with the guys, it’s a great group, all of them are hard to beat.”

This season’s top five Western Late Model division drivers included Stockton’s Pete Anderson Jr. (second), Granite Bay’s John Moore (third), Manteca’s Guy Guibor (fourth) and Turlock’s Chris Monez (fifth).

It was a somber, moving moment as Moore’s crew chief, Randy Newton, came to the stage to accept Moore’s third place plaque. The audience rose to its feet and offered up a standing ovation in tribute to Moore’s son JD, who perished in a Western Late Model practice run several weeks ago.

This season’s top five Pure Stock Division drivers were Galt’s John Medina (first), Stockton’s Richard Harper (second), Modesto’s Charlie Clawson (third), Stockton’s Bob Simpson (fourth) and Manteca’s Michael Brooks Jr. (fifth).

This season’s top five Pro-4 Truck drivers were Saratoga’s Carrie Miller (first), Milpitas’ Ron Robeck (second), Salida’s Dave Daniel (third), Tracy’s Brandon Trevethan (fourth) and Riverbank’s Todd Lewis (fifth).

Miller was given special mention for winning back-to-back NASCAR Pro-4 Trucks titles. Miller is the first female in NASCAR’s 58 season history to repeat win.

This season’s top five Grand American Modified division drivers were Galt’s Jason Kerby (first), Newark’s Ted Montague IV (second), Stockton’s Joe Allen (third), Stockton’s Stewart Cullom (fourth) and Citrus Heights’ Jay Linstroth (fifth).

Award winners

Rookies of the Year -- Western Late Model: Stockton’s Joey Stearns and Chowchilla’s Eric Humphries; Pure Stock: Manteca’s Michael Brooks Jr.; Grand American Modified: Stockton’s Joe Allen; Pro-4 Trucks: Campbell’s Chris Drysdale

Sportsman of the Year -- Stockton’s Doug Lingo

Most Improved -- Pure Stock: Clawson; Pro-4 Trucks: Lodi’s Danny Basto; Grand American Modified: Montague IV

Mechanic of the Year -- Ronni Ayers

Above and Beyond award -- Charles Smith

Record setters -- Pure Stock: Clawson; Pro-4 Trucks: Robeck

Stockton 99 Speedway, NASCAR’s fastest quarter mile oval west of the Mississippi, is looking forward to welcoming drivers and fans back to 2005 NASCAR DODGE Weekly Series racing. This season will feature 22 race dates, Pure Stocks will earn prize money and Western Late Model drivers will compete in 18 main events -- the number needed to win a NASCAR regional national championship.

2005 racing will open Sunday afternoon, April 3 and will feature Western Late Model and Wild West Series twin 100’s; plus Pure Stocks, Pro-4 Trucks and Grand American Modifieds

In 2005 Stockton 99 Speedway will host three twin 100’s -- during the three-legged HAVOLINE Tri Holiday Classic Series and Wild West Shootout race nights.

On Saturday, Aug. 13 Stockton 99 Speedway will highlight its 2005 season with the annual DODGE COUNTRY/NAPA AUTO PARTS/ HAVOLINE 200 Grand National West Series. A night of racing that features over $100,000 in prize money and national television coverage.

The 2005 AUTO ZONE Southwest Elite Series 125 event dates have not yet been set.