Another NASCAR mandated name change goes into effect with the Hobby Division now being called the Charger division. Fans arrive on opening day to find new aluminum grandstands on the main straight.

The only track record for the season comes in the late model ranks as Kevin Gottula notches a quick 13.779 on June 20th.

The late model season competition is the tightest ever with fourteen divers sharing the twenty dash wins, and ten drivers sharing the same number of feature wins. Norman David picks up seven fast times, while Gillit puts away sixteen main event top five runs to collect his second title by a slim, still standing record of only two points over David, with Gottula running third. David Philpott and Strmiska also make strong showings this season.

Tom Taylor of Stockton reels in seven fast times in hobby action, and follows that with six feature wins, while Larry Pierce of Stockton gets to kiss the trophy girl on five different nights. The steady eddy nod went to Stockton's Fred Rathjen with his sixteen main top five runs and eighteen overall wins that landed him the number one spot on the year. Rick Irwin and Wayne Mabe of Manteca, and Stockton's Allen Elliott also score well in the season stats.

Louis Fry of Stockton is the year's semi main champion, with Sonja Knoebel of Mountain View taking the rookie honors. Paul Dorritty Jr., of Modesto is the most improved and John Unger gets the nod for the Sportsman of the year award.

     History Index

         Back                      Home                    Forward